A Home Buyer Inspection is the smart move, but don't take our word for it

Read what your friends & neighbors say about our fast, dependable, reliable home inspections.

Adrienne Parenteau
Adrienne Parenteau
2022-05-27
Verified
Jake was thorough, informative, and kind his expertise in house inspection work was most appreciated.
Alison Woods
Alison Woods
2022-05-27
Verified
Jarrod was extremely professional and personable. He was very knowledgeable and took the time to answer any concerns or questions that we had. We appreciated the time he took to look over every aspect of the home and are confident in his assessments.
Zach Feldman
Zach Feldman
2022-05-23
Verified
Going with Foundations was the right choice. Jake was thorough, responsive, and knowledgeable - happy to answer any questions I had.
Steven Pfeil
Steven Pfeil
2022-05-20
Verified
Jarrod inspected our home and was awesome to work with. Showed up promptly, was incredibly knowledgeable, and shared his expertise in a way that was easy to understand. If you have any home inspection needs, call Jarrod. You will be happy that you did.
Cassandra Semler
Cassandra Semler
2022-05-20
Verified
Jake was awesome to work with! He was thorough and professional, but also extremely kind. Would highly recommend!
Chelsea Boehm
Chelsea Boehm
2022-05-19
Verified
Jake was our inspector. He was very knowledgeable and honest about everything which we truly appreciated. It was very evident he was in this profession because he genuinely cares about people and the safety of their prospective new homes. I will be recommending this company to anyone I know needing a home inspection done!
Owen Poloka
Owen Poloka
2022-05-19
Verified
Mike was great to work with from start to finish. Thank you!
Ashley Kochis
Ashley Kochis
2022-05-18
Verified
Just an awesome overall experience! Jarrod is a true professional who keeps his client involved in every aspect of the inspection…very thorough, exceptionally personable, and his reports are second to none!
home buyer inspection

What is a Foundation Property Home Buyer Inspection?

A home buyer inspection is a visual examination of a home and its systems: interior plumbing, electrical, roof, attics (temperature permitting), and visible areas of walls, ceilings, floors, foundations, etc. No house is perfect. If an inspector finds a problem it is not an indication the home should not be purchased, nor does an inspection represent a work order for repairs. It simply serves to educate you as to the condition of the home.

Watch this short video for an easy overview of our home buyer inspection process. Check out this photographic flip-list of the categories covered in the report.

foundations property inspection Services

Select an inspection or testing service for more information

Home
Inspection

Pest
Inspection

Radon
Inspection

Sewer Camera
Inspection

Water Sample
Test

Well Flow
Test

Septic Dye
Flow Test

Home Buyer Inspection Benefits

Home Buyer Inspection Report Includes:

Exterior

-Lot Grading
-Driveway
-Walkways
-Retaining Walls
-Steps, Porches, Decks
-Garages, Carports
-Siding
-Window
-Soffit & Fascia

Roofing

-Roofing Materials
-Chimneys
-Flashing
-Gutters & Downspouts

Interior

-Wall & Ceiling Finishes
-Fireplaces
-Floors, Doors & Windows
-Stairways
-Bathrooms
-Other Interior Components

Plumbing

-Supply Piping
-Drain/Waste/Vent Plumbing
-Water Heater

Electrical

-Service/Entrance
-Main Distribution Panel
-Branch Panels
-Distribution Wiring

Heating

-Description of Heating System
-Furnace/Broiler
-Combustion/ Exhaust

Basement

-Foundation
-Floor Structure
-Insulation/ Ventilation
-Basement Leakage

Cooling

-Description of Cooling System
-Central Air Conditioning
-Heat Pump

Attic

-Ceiling
-Roof Structure
-Insulation
-Ventilation

Home Buyer Inspection Services that Buyers & Sellers Trust

A home buyer inspection will provide critical insight for buyers, sellers, real estate agents, and homeowners to evaluate important foundation and structural conditions regarding residential properties.

A Pittsburgh home buyer inspection isn’t just part of a real estate transaction; it’s a necessity. When looking to purchase something as expensive as a home, it’s important to understand what you’re stepping into before taking ownership. Moreover, getting a comprehensive assessment of a house will undoubtedly save you time and money on future repairs and maintenance. A Foundations Property Inspection Report will provide meaningful insight and give you peace of mind to buy with confidence. Protect your investment with our dedicated professional inspections. If it is important to you and your family, it’s everything to us!

family protection for home buyers foundations home inspections

home inspection award

Foundations Property Inspections sets the industry standard for Home Inspection services.

Home buyer inspection report on iPhone

Home Buyer Inspection Report You Can Count On

Home Buyer Inspection Report provides professional insight that you need to know before you buy. After we’ve evaluated the whole home, we’ll condense our findings into a convenient digital inspection report which will be delivered to you within 48 hours or less. Our easy-to-read descriptions and images of deficiencies will significantly expand your knowledge of the property’s condition. You can leverage this professional advice and adjust your purchase proposal terms for a final purchase accordingly.

Foundation Property Inspection Report eliminates the need for rigorous notetaking and you can easily itemize a custom project and repair list from our inspection findings in only a couple of short minutes.

Our Promise

Selecting the best home buyer inspector can be a difficult and confusing decision. You deserve an established, local Pittsburgh company you can trust that gives you confidence in your home buying decision. At Foundations Property Inspection, we promise to treat your investment as if we were going to buy it ourselves!

Full Access

We are equipped with Realtor keypads access for client/realtor convenience.

Fully Insured

Fully Insured under Pennsylvania general liability and E&O.

EZ Report

User-friendly reporting – Foundations Property Inspections reports are tailored so our clients can follow and interpret them with ease. Pictures are incorporated throughout the report, so you can actually see what we are talking about.

Foundation Property Inspections are performed to ASHI & InterNACHI standards of excellence

Whether you are a home buyer, lender, seller, investor, development company, or real estate agent, the chances are you or the client may request a variety of residential home inspections prior to the sale or purchase of a home. Our complete home inspections are carried out to the ASHI standards and the InterNACHI standards of practice. ASHI Standards of practice are the largest and most recognized standards used by banks, law institutions, and realtors in the United States. Foundations Property Inspection promises to deliver the most technically superior inspections that money can buy, delivered in a manner that is educational, service-oriented, and focused on our customers having an experience that they will rave about. No third parties will be involved. You will speak directly to the person who did your home inspection!

ashi Foundation property inspection is certified by the American society of home inspectors
interNACHI Association of Certified Home Inspectors certified
Foundations Property Inspection banner

FPI's Co-Owners & Principal Partners

Jarrod Lape & Jake Schneider

Company History

Foundations Property Inspection was founded by Jake Schneider and Jarrod Lape in 2008. Our professional inspectors are Pennsylvania certified, licensed, insured, and nationally accredited members of ASHI and  InterNACHI. We’ve helped thousands of home buyers and sellers in Southwester PA for more than a decade and in doing so built a reputation for excellence with a track record of trustworthy inspection and testing service for Pittsburgh homeowners.

Our corporate office is located at 1377 Route 51, Jefferson Hills, PA 15025. We offer Home, Pest, Radon, Sewer, Water, Well, & Septic Inspection & Testing Services 7-days a week for your convenience.

We live where you live. We work with your family. Our dedicated inspectors are family-focused and able to assist with every detail of your house inspection.

Foundations Property Inspection provides objective reporting from the industry’s top professional inspectors who are licensed and certified. 

Our team of top-industry professional inspectors is committed to providing detailed, full-color inspection reports that cover the mechanical and structural components of a home and follow the stringent guidelines and standards of practice of the American Society of Home Inspectors.

Contact Jarrod Lape (724) 884-3271 or Jake Schneider (412) 849-0201 or Mike Dusak (412) 583-0073 to schedule your home inspection.

Over 10 years of home inspection experience

We’ve inspected thousands of homes around Pittsburgh and the surrounding areas. At FPI, we serve residents of Southwestern PA and beyond with an unapparelled commitment to excellence.

jarrod lape certified home inspector illustration contact

Jarrod Lape

Co-Owner & Principal Partner
Certified Home Inspector & Building Consultant
American Society of Home Inspectors
(ASHI) #257091
Radon Measurement Specialist
#3098
jake schneider certified home inspector illustration contact

Jake Schneider

Co-Owner & Principal Partner
Certified Home Inspector & Building Consultant
American Society of Home Inspectors
(ASHI) #251201
Radon Measurement Specialist
#2941
Pest License
BU #11539
mike dusak certified home inspector illustration contact

Mike Dusak

Certified Home Inspector & Building Consultant
Int'l Association of Certified Home Inspectors
(NACHI) # 20022554
Radon Measurement Specialist
Jake Schneider on location in Pittsburgh neighborhood neighborhood home inspection

Foundations Property Inspection is never out of touch. We’re available to inspect your home or property 7 days a week. We’re ready when you’re ready.

Foundations Property Inspection's benefits & credentials